Tomorrow’s Cheese

I recently saw this sign outside the First Baptist of Okay, a church in the tiny town of Okay, Oklahoma.

This one took me back to when I was struggling to find words for a book I was writing two years ago. While the project was mostly an enjoyable one, there were days the ideas would not come.

I found myself worrying about daily word counts. I fretted over having to make up for lost time (and words) the next day. The what ifs were also taking hold. What if I don’t finish on time? What if I have to start all over again? What if I really can’t do this?

As the humorist, Josh Billings, once said, “There are people who are always anticipating trouble, and in this way they manage to enjoy many sorrows that never really happen to them.”

I was becoming one of those people. So I decided to ask the most important what if question of all. What if I talk with God?

My talks with God may not be what you’d expect. Many years ago, I learned that worries don’t like long walks and, for that reason, my talks are mostly walks. There isn’t much talking either; it’s about letting go and waiting.  I simply walk and wait. If I walk long enough, the answers come.

I guess I walked often and long enough as I did eventually finish the book. Worries fell by the wayside as I waited on God. Words and ideas began to flow again. It’s something I cannot explain. It’s something I cannot teach. It’s a thing called faith.

The best advice I can give you the next time worries surround you is to ask yourself, What if I talk with God? Then, walk and wait.

And try not to eat tomorrow’s cheese.

About Rich Kenney

Rich Kenney is an Assistant Professor and Director of the Social Work Program at Chadron State College in Chadron, Nebraska.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tomorrow’s Cheese

  1. Hi Rich, I live the Josh Billings saying. It sounds like my mother, and myself sometimes. Living in a very competitive society like our own breeds some of this, because if you fall, you fall hard. But you are right that we need to have faith to really experience our lives, and to live without fear of all the things that can go wrong.
    Nice post,
    Bill

    • Rich Kenney says:

      Bill,
      Good to hear from you. Josh Billings is one of my favorite humorists. He has a way of lightening things up. I wonder if he ever played baseball… Rich

  2. Okay! What a great place to have a church!

  3. This is a great post! I read a statistic once that 95% of the things people worry about never happen. I have no idea how someone would calculate such a statistic, but it brought home to me the futility of worry. I love your solution – “What if I talk to God?” Reminds me of my favorite verse:
    “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7. Peace, Linda

  4. Thanks for the reminder! I know that God has called me to write and He gives me the words but some days I start to overthink it and begin to worry about if I heard Him correctly or even if I heard Him at all. And every time I get in that mode I realize I haven’t taken that time to just sit in His presence and wait. After all, it’s not about my words and this was a reminder to step aside, get out of the way and let God 🙂 Thanks!

  5. I appreciate your insight and honesty. I have found prayer to be the original wireless connection.

Leave a Reply

